BREAKING: Maryland League of Conservation Voters endorses Wes Moore for Maryland governor

Contact: [email protected] 
June 14, 2022

Maryland League of Conservation Voters endorses Wes Moore for Maryland governor

Leading environmental group enthusiastically supports Moore, heralding his ‘strong climate platform’ and ‘clear commitment to addressing environmental justice’ 

Moore has unparalleled support from leaders in climate movement in Maryland

BALTIMORE (June 14, 2022) –  Leading Democratic candidate for governor Wes Moore today earned the endorsement of the Maryland League of Conservation Voters. 

“The Maryland League of Conservation Voters has an unparalleled track record bringing together community and political leaders to address the climate crisis,” Wes Moore said. “As governor, I will be their passionate partner to re-establish Maryland as a national leader, tackle environmental injustice, and take the urgent and aggressive actions the climate crisis demands. I am honored and humbled to have their support.”

The Maryland League of Conservation Voters has been on the frontlines of environmental and climate advocacy in the state for over four decades, serving as the leading legislative watchdog on environmental policy in Annapolis and working to elect pro-conservation candidates across the state. Their endorsement was highly coveted in this crowded primary field. 

“Wes Moore has developed a strong climate platform that includes a clear commitment to addressing environmental justice,” said Kim Coble, executive director of Maryland LCV. “At a time of deep political division and cynicism, Wes has also shown a remarkable ability to inspire Marylanders on all sides of the political spectrum. Those skills are essential to meeting the environmental challenges confronting our state.

“Maryland LCV proudly endorses Wes Moore for Governor and will urge environmental voters statewide to vote for him in the Democratic primary,” Coble said. 

Wes Moore unveiled his comprehensive plan to build a cleaner and more prosperous Maryland in January. 

“As Governor, I fought to secure a clean energy future for Maryland and there’s no one I trust more than Wes Moore to continue the fight,” Former Gov. Parris Glendening, who has endorsed Moore, said of his plan at the time. “I know what this job takes and I know that under Wes’ leadership, Maryland will once again lead the nation in combating climate change and his comprehensive plan illustrates Wes’ commitment to fight climate change and create economic opportunities aggressively and equitably.”

Other climate leaders who have endorsed Moore and his running mate former Del. Aruna Miller include Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman; Del. Kumar Barve (District 17), who is chair of the powerful Environment and Transportation Committee; Baltimore City Councilmember Mark Conway (District 1); and Ruth Ann Norton, a leading local nonprofit leader focusing on green and healthy homes.  

Read Wes’ Moore’s comprehensive climate plan » 

In his bid to become the next Governor of Maryland, Wes Moore and Aruna Miller have earned the support of U.S. House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (MD-5), former Governor and former Prince George’s County Executive Parris Glendening; former Democratic nominee for Governor Ben Jealous; Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks; Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman; Former Baltimore County Executive Don Mohler; Former Baltimore County Executive Jim Smith; Prince George’s County State’s Attorney Aisha Braveboy; Sen. Guy Guzzone (District 13); Sen. Antonio Hayes (District 40); Sen. Cheryl Kagan (District 17); Sen. Delores Kelley (District 10); Sen. Susan Lee (District 16); Sen. Obie Patterson (District 26); Former Sen. Nathaniel McFadden (District 45); Del. Marlon Amprey (District 40); Del. Vanessa Atterbeary (District 13); Del. Ben Barnes (District 21); Del. Kumar Barve (District 17); Del. Lisa Belcastro (District 11); Del. Regina Boyce (District 43); Del. Chanel Branch (District 45); Del. Ben Brooks (District 10); Del. Frank Conaway, Jr. (District 40); Del. Debra Davis (District 28); Del. Jessica Feldmark (District 13); Del. Terri Hill (District 12); Speaker Pro Tem Del. Sheree Sample-Hughes (District 37A); Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates Adrienne Jones (District 10); Del. Rachel Jones (District 27B); Del. Anne Kaiser (District 14); Del. Cheryl Landis (District 23B); Majority Leader Del. Eric Luedtke (District 14); Del. Maggie McIntosh (District 43); Del. Edith Patterson (District 28); Del. Roxane Prettyman (District 44A); Del. Mike Rogers (District 32); Del. Sandy Rosenberg (District 41); Del. Emily Shetty (District 18);  Del. Geraldine Valentino-Smith (District 23A); Del. and Baltimore City Delegation Chair Stephanie Smith (District 45); Del. Melissa Wells (District 40); Del. Nicole Williams (District 22); Former Del. Gene Counihan (District 15); Baltimore County Councilmember Cathy Bevins (District 6); University Park Councilmember and Mayor-Elect Joel Biermann; Bowie Mayor Pro Tem & Councilmember Adrian Boafo; Baltimore City Councilmember John Bullock (District 9); Hagerstown City Councilmember Tiara Burnett; Morningside Mayor Bennard Cann; Charles County Commissioner Thomasina Coates (District 2); Baltimore City Councilmember Zeke Cohen (District 1); Baltimore City Councilmember Mark Conway (District 4); Baltimore City Councilmember Eric Costello (District 11); Bowie City Councilmember Michael Esteve (District 11); Gaithersburg Councilmember Lisa Henderson; Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando (At Large); Baltimore County Council Chair and Councilmember Julian Jones (District 4); Hagerstown Mayor Emily Keller; Hagerstown City Councilmember Tekesha Martinez; Prince George’s County Councilmember Johnathan Medlock (District 6); Former Gaithersburg Councilmember Yvette Monroe; Pocomoke City Councilmember Todd Nock (District 4); Baltimore City Councilmember Phylicia Porter (District 10); Baltimore County Councilmember Tom Quirk (District 1); Baltimore City Councilmember Odette Ramos (District 14); Somerset Mayor Jeffrey Slavin; Riverdale Park Councilmember Richard Smith (Ward 1); Laurel Councilmember Brencis Smith (Ward 2); Baltimore City Councilmember Robert Stokes (District 12); Baltimore City Councilmember James Torrence (District 7); Forest Heights Mayor Calvin Washington; former Maryland Democratic Party chairs Michael Cryor and Susie Turnbull; Former Chair of the Montgomery County Planning Board Royce Hanson; Joe Vogel, candidate for delegate in District 17; The Baltimore Fire Officers Union Local 964; Collective PAC, one of the nation’s largest organizations working to build Black representation in government; Impact, a leading national organization supporting the Indian American and South Asian community; Ironworkers Local #5, a progressive union representing over 1,000 ironworkers; The Maryland State Education Association; The Columbia Democratic Club; and VoteVetsPAC, one of the top veterans advocacy organizations in the country.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email