RELEASE: U.S. Majority Leader Steny Hoyer endorses Wes Moore for Governor 


Contact: [email protected]

April 29, 2022

U.S. Majority Leader Steny Hoyer endorses Wes Moore for Governor 

Moore’s unparalleled momentum continues with coveted endorsement from Maryland’s highest ranking Congressional Representative 

Majority Leader Hoyer joined Moore for a tour of Bowie State University after delivering his coveted endorsement

BOWIE, Md. (April 29, 2021) – Majority Leader Steny Hoyer, the second ranking member of the House Democratic Leadership, endorsed Wes Moore to be the next Governor of Maryland at Bowie State University today.

“I am humbled to receive the endorsement of House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer,” said Wes Moore. “Leader Hoyer has been a champion for Marylanders for decades who has led our federal delegation with his common-sense approach and dynamic record of delivering results for Maryland families. We will work together to grow our economy and make Maryland a place where we leave no one behind.”

Hoyer represents Maryland’s 5th district in Congress. Currently serving in his 21st term, Hoyer is both the longest-serving Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Maryland and the highest ranking Congressman from Maryland in history. The two-time Majority Leader has also served in a number of roles in Democratic Leadership, including House Democratic Whip, Chair of the Democratic Caucus, and Co-Chair of the Democratic Steering Committee. 

“I am honored to support Wes Moore to be the next Governor of the State of Maryland. While there are many great candidates in this year’s race, Wes stands out as a candidate whose experience, vision, and talent can lead Maryland toward a brighter future by inspiring our people – particularly our young people – to work together to face our toughest challenges,” Majority Leader Steny Hoyer said. “Throughout his life, Wes Moore has shown up for the most vulnerable and given back to his community.  He’s served his nation in uniform and proven himself as a successful author, businessman, and philanthropist. I have no doubt that he will be able to lead our state forward as governor as he works for stronger wages, more equitable opportunities, and greater pathways to success for Marylanders. I strongly endorse Wes Moore, a native son of Maryland and a visionary and innovative, generational leader for our state.”

Hoyer becomes the first member of the federal delegation from Maryland to endorse in a crowded democratic primary. Hoyer’s endorsement is further evidence of Moore’s unparalleled momentum in the race for Governor and cements his standing as a frontrunner for the Democratic nomination for Governor. The monumental announcement comes on the heels of 2018 Democratic nominee for Maryland Governor Ben Jealous’ endorsement of Moore in the race for Governor and a flurry of other endorsements. 

Wes Moore’s surging grassroots support, record breaking fundraising, and high profile endorsements have propelled him to the front of a crowded field, and bolstered the case that Moore and his running mate, former Del. Aruna Miller, represent the most viable ticket in the race and Democrats’ best chance at reclaiming the governor’s office. 

Majority Leader Steny Hoyer joins Wes Moore and his running mate former Del. Aruna Miller’s rapidly growing coalition that includes endorsements from former Governor and former Prince George’s County Executive Parris Glendening; former Democratic nominee for Governor Ben Jealous; Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks; Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman; Former Baltimore County Executive Don Mohler; Former Baltimore County Executive Jim Smith; Prince George’s County State’s Attorney Aisha Braveboy; Sen. Guy Guzzone (District 13); Sen. Antonio Hayes (District 40); Sen. Cheryl Kagan (District 17); Sen. Delores Kelley (District 10); Sen. Obie Patterson (District 26); Former Sen. Nathaniel McFadden (District 45); Del. Marlon Amprey (District 40); Del. Vanessa Atterbeary (District 13); Del. Ben Barnes (District 21); Del. Kumar Barve (District 17); Del. Lisa Belcastro (District 11); Del. Regina Boyce (District 43); Del. Chanel Branch (District 45); Del. Frank Conaway, Jr. (District 40); Del. Jessica Feldmark (District 13); Del. Terri Hill (District 12); Del. Anne Kaiser (District 14); Del. Cheryl Landis (District 23B); Majority Leader Del. Eric Luedtke (District 14); Del. Roxane Prettyman (District 44A); Del. Mike Rogers (District 32); Del. Sandy Rosenberg (District 41); Del. Emily Shetty (District 18); Geraldine Valentino-Smith (District 23A); Del. and Baltimore City Delegation Chair Stephanie Smith (District 45); Del. Melissa Wells (District 40); Del. Nicole Williams (District 22); Former Del. Gene Counihan (District 15); Bowie Mayor Pro Tem & Councilmember Adrian Boafo; Baltimore City Councilmember John Bullock (District 9); Hagerstown City Councilmember Tiara Burnett; Morningside Mayor Bennard Cann; Charles County Commissioner Thomasina Coates (District 2); Baltimore City Councilmember Zeke Cohen (District 1); Baltimore City Councilmember Mark Conway (District 4); Baltimore City Councilmember Eric Costello (District 11); Bowie City Councilmember Michael Esteve (District 11); Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando (At Large); Baltimore County Council Chair and Councilmember Julian Jones (District 4); Hagerstown Mayor Emily Keller; Hagerstown City Councilmember Tekesha Martinez; District Heights Mayor Johnathan Medlock; Former Gaithersburg Councilmember Yvette Monroe; Baltimore City Councilmember Phylicia Porter (District 10); Baltimore City Councilmember Odette Ramos (District 14); Somerset Mayor Jeffrey Slavin; Riverdale Park Councilmember Richard Smith (Ward 1); Laurel Councilmember Brencis Smith (Ward 2); Baltimore City Councilmember Robert Stokes (District 12); Baltimore City Councilmember James Torrence (District 7); Forest Heights Mayor Calvin Washington; former Maryland Democratic Party chairs Michael Cryor and Susie Turnbull; Former Chair of the Montgomery County Planning Board Royce Hanson; The Baltimore Fire Officers Union Local 964; Collective PAC, one of the nation’s largest organizations working to build Black representation in government; Impact, a leading national organization supporting the Indian American and South Asian community; Ironworkers Local #5, a progressive union representing over 1,000 ironworkers; The Maryland State Education Association; and VoteVetsPAC, one of the top veterans advocacy organizations in the country.