RELEASE: Sen. Cheryl Kagan endorses Wes Moore for Governor of Maryland


November 16, 2021

Contact: [email protected]

Sen. Cheryl Kagan endorses Wes Moore for Governor of Maryland

Moore continues momentum, earning coveted endorsement of progressive Montgomery County Senator

GAITHERSBURG, Md. (Nov. 16, 2021) – Maryland State Sen. Cheryl Kagan (District 17) endorsed Wes Moore to be the next Governor of Maryland, the campaign announced today. 

“When I think about what Maryland needs in our next Governor, I look for someone who is progressive, effective, ethical, and electable. Wes Moore is all of that and more,” Kagan said. “I look forward to helping to elect him. Wes will deliver transformational leadership to families in Maryland.”

Kagan, who represents Gaithersburg and Rockville, has a track record of enacting innovative solutions to solve our state’s most pressing issues — from reforming and improving 9-1-1 operations to supporting nonprofits to addressing our climate crisis. 

“I’m honored to receive the endorsement from a true leader in our legislature, Sen. Cheryl Kagan,” Moore said. “She is a champion on behalf of our nonprofits, the environment, public safety, and more. Her endorsement reflects the coalition we are building and the momentum we are seeing across the state of Maryland to expand work, wages, and wealth for every family.”

Kagan has been in the Senate since January 2015 and serves as Vice Chair of the Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee. She represented the same district in the House of Delegates for eight years. Kagan is known as a champion for the nonprofit, Next Generation 9-1-1, and Jewish communities, as well as the Democratic Party.

Kagan joins other endorsers including VoteVetsPAC, one of the top veterans advocacy organizations in the country; Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman; Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando (At-Large); Baltimore City Councilmembers Zeke Cohen (District 1), Mark Conway (District 4), James Torrence (District 7), John Bullock (District 9), Phylicia Porter (District 10), Eric Costello (District 11), and Odette Ramos (District 14); Sen. Antonio Hayes (District 40) and Delegates Marlon Amprey (District 40), Frank Conaway, Jr. (District 40), Melissa Wells (District 40); and Stephanie Smith (District 45), Chair of the Baltimore City Delegation.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email