RELEASE: Ben Jealous endorses Wes Moore for Maryland Governor


Contact: [email protected]

April 21, 2022

Ben Jealous endorses Wes Moore for Maryland Governor

Former NAACP chief and 2018 Democratic nominee for Maryland governor becomes latest leader to endorse Moore

Jealous endorsement leads a flurry of momentum for the Moore campaign 

BALTIMORE (April 21, 2022) – Democratic candidate for Governor of Maryland Wes Moore earned the endorsement of former Democratic nominee and civil rights leader Ben Jealous today amid a flurry of endorsements from leaders across Maryland. 

“I have known Wes Moore for 20 years. In that time, I’ve gotten to know his character and see the commitment he has for bringing about bold change,” Ben Jealous said. “Wes is a once-in-a-generation leader who can build the coalitions we need to win in November and deliver the economic progress working families need across Maryland. I’m proud to support him and I will fight to ensure he becomes our next governor.”

Jealous is the former national president and chief executive officer of the NAACP, and now serves as president of People for the American Way and teaches leadership at the University of Pennsylvania.

In 2018, Jealous overwhelmingly defeated a crowded field in the Democratic primary, outpacing the next closest candidate – former Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker – by double digit percentages. 

“I have known Ben Jealous since my time as a Rhodes Scholar and beyond our friendship, I have long admired his critical work as a leader in Maryland and across the country as a champion for progress and opportunity,” Wes Moore said. “I am humbled by his support and this remarkable coalition of leaders across the state as part of this people-powered movement to expand economic opportunity for every family in Maryland.”

Earlier this week, Moore earned the endorsement of Del. C.T. Wilson (District 28) of Southern Maryland, a fellow Army veteran who serves as chair of the powerful House Economic Matters Committee.

“I am honored to endorse Wes Moore to be the next governor of Maryland. He has served his country and contributed to our greater good. His proven leadership experience and inclusive vision to deliver economic opportunity for all Marylanders is our way forward,” Wilson said. “While others say what they will do, Wes Moore has shown us what he’s done as a public servant; not as a career politician. I am proud to support him.”

In addition to Jealous’ endorsement, the Moore-Miller campaign is also announcing the endorsements of leaders from Southern Maryland to Hagerstown; including Del. Roxane Prettyman (District 44A), Hagerstown City Councilmember Tiara Burnett, and Charles County Commissioner Thomasina Coates (District 2).

“I support Wes Moore as candidate for Governor, because I believe he will make a difference. He has empathy for the disadvantaged, and solutions for our communities that have been neglected for generations,” Del. Roxane Prettyman (District 44A) said. “Wes’ vision to deliver economic opportunity is our path forward, and he has the experience to see it through. Wes Moore is the best choice for Maryland Governor.”

“As a lifelong resident of Hagerstown, it is critical that our next Governor show their commitment to support local legislators and uplift our community’s voices and needs,” Hagerstown City Councilmember Tiara Burnett said. “My conversations with Wes Moore prove he wants to understand the challenges Hagerstown faces, and will work with local leaders to find solutions. Wes will be our partner in transforming our communities in a positive, productive way–in every Maryland jurisdiction. I’m proud to support him.”

“Wes Moore is the change candidate Maryland needs and I am proud to endorse him,” Charles County Commissioner Thomasina Coates (District 2) said. “He is a family man, community-driven, and an upstanding public servant with a proven track record of delivering thoughtful solutions that address the inequities that affect our most vulnerable. The Moore-Miller campaign will move Charles County forward and make good on their promise to expand work, wages, and wealth for families across the state.” 

These leaders join Wes Moore and his running mate former Del. Aruna Miller’s rapidly growing coalition that includes endorsements from former Governor and former Prince George’s County Executive Parris Glendening; Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks; Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman; Former Baltimore County Executive Don Mohler; Former Baltimore County Executive Jim Smith; Prince George’s County State’s Attorney Aisha Braveboy; Sen. Guy Guzzone (District 13); Sen. Antonio Hayes (District 40); Sen. Cheryl Kagan (District 17); Sen. Delores Kelley (District 10); Sen. Obie Patterson (District 26); Former Sen. Nathaniel McFadden (District 45); Del. Marlon Amprey (District 40); Del. Vanessa Atterbeary (District 13); Del. Ben Barnes (District 21); Del. Kumar Barve (District 17); Del. Lisa Belcastro (District 11); Del. Regina Boyce (District 43); Del. Chanel Branch (District 45); Del. Frank Conaway, Jr. (District 40); Del. Jessica Feldmark (District 13); Del. Terri Hill (District 12); Del. Anne Kaiser (District 14); Majority Leader Del. Eric Luedtke (District 14); Del. Mike Rogers (District 32); Del. Emily Shetty (District 18); Geraldine Valentino-Smith (District 23A); Del. and Baltimore City Delegation Chair Stephanie Smith (District 45); Del. Melissa Wells (District 40); Del. Nicole Williams (District 22); Former Del. Gene Counihan (District 15); Bowie Mayor Pro Tem & Councilmember Adrian Boafo; Baltimore City Councilmember John Bullock (District 9); Morningside Mayor Bennard Cann; Baltimore City Councilmember Zeke Cohen (District 1); Baltimore City Councilmember Mark Conway (District 4); Baltimore City Councilmember Eric Costello (District 11); Bowie City Councilmember Michael Esteve (District 11); Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando (At Large); Baltimore County Council Chair and Councilmember Julian Jones (District 4); Hagerstown Mayor Emily Keller; Former Gaithersburg Councilmember Yvette Monroe; Baltimore City Councilmember Phylicia Porter (District 10); Baltimore City Councilmember Odette Ramos (District 14); Somerset Mayor Jeffrey Slavin; Riverdale Park Councilmember Richard Smith (Ward 1); Laurel Councilmember Brencis Smith (Ward 2); Baltimore City Councilmember Robert Stokes (District 12); Baltimore City Councilmember James Torrence (District 7); Forest Heights Mayor Calvin Washington; former Maryland Democratic Party chairs Michael Cryor and Susie Turnbull; Former Chair of the Montgomery County Planning Board Royce Hanson; The Baltimore Fire Officers Union Local 964; Collective PAC, one of the nation’s largest organizations working to build Black representation in government; Impact, a leading national organization supporting the Indian American and South Asian community; Ironworkers Local #5, a progressive union representing over 1,000 ironworkers; The Maryland State Education Association; and VoteVetsPAC, one of the top veterans advocacy organizations in the country.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email